My views on Voluntary Simplicity

Published on by Lilith

Would you practice voluntary simplicity?

 

No, I wouldn’t do Voluntary Simplicity.  Those are some of the reasons: 

 

According to the fact I live in a capitalist system in which consuming is essential, living like that wouldn’t help the economy.  In fact, if everyone was practicing Voluntary Simplicity, we would have some kind of terrifying problems because if no one consumes, then the companies have less money and workers are hired.  The fewer workers you have, the less they will get money.  Without money people cant consume.  No consumption, economic downfall.

 

Second, it has been said that Voluntary Simplicity was helping us to have a better social life and take more time with family and friends.  But in a way, I think doing different activities is a really good way to get closer to people.  You cannot always stay home, that would be a little boring in my view.  For example, bowling is a great family activity, attraction parks too, and even shopping!  When talking about girls, its the best way to begin a friendship.  Of course theres other ways, but diversification is still very important.  So, my point is: « consuming can also help me to get closer to my friends and my family ».  So it wouldn’t really help me to feel happier.

 

 I think voluntary simplicity is fundamentally a really good and meaningful idea.  Its true that our society is over-consuming.  Most of us throw things to wastebasket instead of repairing it or prefer to buy brands because they believe it looks cool.  Those things are just so easy to correct and could bring a difference into the world.  I support Voluntary Simplicity it that way. Im already practicing those things.  But what I mostly mean is I dont think stopping consuming stuff we want is useful and really helps us be happier.  We are still working to get this money and not spending it would only be a waste.  I dont really enjoy working for nothing.  Do you?

 



What are your thoughts about Voluntary Simplicity?

Published on リリト~ -Me

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post